Walt Disney's Magic Touches All of Us

Disney 1935 New Year cardI’m sure most of us will look back on 2018 and remember ups and downs, good times and trying times. I hope that, for each of you, the memorable moments outnumber the ones you’d like to forget, by a wide margin.

 

This is the second full year I’ve been writing The Disney Connection. I don’t use my blog to make money, but to share my admiration of Walt and the continued success of the the fruits of his boundless energy, imagination and drive to achieve. I continue to be very pleased, often surprised, at the level of interest in my writing, even though I purposely do not offer current event information, Disney announcements or reviews. I prefer to offer thoughts on Disney related topics that inspire me.

I’m thankful that overall unique visitors were up by more than 60% this year to over 3,500. November was the busiest month followed by April. I’m thankful for all of the late Summer and Fall visitors even after a longer than usual hiatus, due to my job being affected by a widespread company layoff. I mentioned my job loss in Seriously, Let’s Not Forget the Gags. I’m thankful to have found a very good job with a solid company. Again, this year, I’m particularly thankful for the Facebook group page administrators at:

D23 Expo 2019 – D23 Members, Expo Fans and Attendees
Disney Parks Moms Panel Hopefuls!

Both have allowed me to post regularly in these closed groups. Much of the visitor traffic to The Disney Connection is the result of these pages.

I’m sure I’m not the only one who’s wrestling with the many revelations this year about Facebook management’s handling of the information they collect from everyone’s activity. For the moment I am sticking with Facebook. Those of you who decide to call it a day with Facebook, you can follow me on Twitter @Bradkay60. I will continue to evaluate things as time goes by.

Finally, I’m thankful to my family for their support and for allowing me to indulge my interest and excitement about the World of Disney.

Taking a look back, here are The Disney Connection posts that all of you found most interesting this year:

 

Opening the year and the most viewed, is January’s Flipping Disney’s Lands, where I offered my opinion for how to improve the entertainment value of Tomorrowland and Frontierland in the 21st century

 

 

 

Even though I was quite young when he died, in February’s post My Connection to Walt Disney through his Signature, I wrote about feeling closer to Walt Disney through his enigmatic and elusive signature

 

 

 

 

In March, many of you read Pirates Change with the Times to get my perspective on how Disney fans react in different ways to Imagineer’s changes to the iconic Pirates of the Caribbean attraction

 

 

Earlier in March was the next most visited post, Reviewing Disney Reviewers where I took a stand against Disney vacation reviews that often stray from the topic to focus on the Company, rather than criticism of the experience

 

 

 

The next most visited post, Opening Days Excitement at Disney Parks, was inspired by the start of the baseball season, in April, as expectations are high for the many changes coming to Disney theme parks, just like they are on opening day of the Baseball season.

 

I hope all of you, your families and friends have a happy and prosperous 2019. I look forward to hearing from all of you in the new year.

 

Thanks.

Brad.

 

Comments on: "Most Popular The Disney Connection Posts of 2018" (2)

  1. I received the Steamboat Willie plush; thanks again!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.